In the heavy metal community many writers toss around the monikers “legend” and “genre defying” to describe many bands, but these terms have never been more accurate if they are referring to NEVERMORE, who have perfectly carved out their own unique niche over the past years of dominance. This group’s sound encompasses every element of the metal spectrum and is like no other band within their genre. They have played everywhere across the world to over hundreds of thousands of people and after all this time they have never been more determined, focused and powerful than they are now.

One always says that you can’t rush greatness or perfection, and this couldn’t be more true in the case of NEVERMORE, who last released the highly acclaimed “This Godless Endeavor” in 2005. Two years of massive touring followed resulting in 2008’s stunning double DVD/live album “The Year Of The Voyager”. Now, the Seattle quartet have triumphantly returned with the much anticipated new full-length release, “The Obsidian Conspiracy”, which is what could be their most impressive offering of their illustrious, decade plus, heralded career.

“The Obsidian Conspiracy” was recorded with renowned producer Peter Wichers (who previously worked with NEVERMORE vocalist Warrel Dane on his solo debut “Praises to the War Machine”). Longtime friend and collaborator Andy Sneap (Megadeth, Arch Enemy) once again handled mixing duties. The captivating and dynamic coverart was once again created by the great Travis Smith (Amorphis, Opeth).

Over the years, NEVERMORE constantly evolved while developing into one of the world’s most remarkable and inimitable metal acts uniting progressive technique, charismatic vocals, thought-provoking lyrics and thrashing impact. This progression is most evident on “The Obsidian Conspiracy” as it is an epic journey through the pantheon of metal taking the listener on an introspective ride of emotions and could be best described as more of a soundtrack to the senses.

This quintessential metal band was formed out of the ashes of Seattle, Washington, based thrash act Sanctuary in 1991 by Dane and Jim Sheppard (bass), with the addition of Jeff Loomis (guitar, who had played in the final line-up of Sanctuary) and Mark Arrington on drums. A few years later, Van Williams joined the band (drums). The band has since released six full-length albums, toured the world a number of times and captivated the hearts of metalheads touring with such diverse and major acts ranging from Megadeth, In Flames, Disturbed, Arch Enemy, Dimmu Borgir and Children of Bodom, among countless others.

In 2010, the mighty NEVERMORE have returned to reclaim their spot atop the heap of the metal world and prove that they have truly crafted an album of excellence.


  • Warrel Dane: Vocals
  • Jim Sheppard: Bass
  • Jeff Loomis: Lead & Rhythm Guitar
  • Van Williams: Drums

Social Web:


  • The Obsidian Conspiracy

    The Obsidian Conspiracy

  • This Godless Endeavor

    This Godless Endeavor

  • Enemies of Reality

    Enemies of Reality

  • Dead Heart in a Dead World

    Dead Heart in a Dead World

  • Dreaming Neon Black

    Dreaming Neon Black

  • In Memory

    In Memory

  • The Politics of Ecstasy

    The Politics of Ecstasy

  • Nevermore