Artists

Biography

For Tom Angelripper, his thrash metal band Sodom is a perfect vehicle to bluntly take a stand. Like few other musicians on this scene, he personifies – along with down-to-earthiness and honesty – a healthily critical position on political authorities and decision-makers from finance and industry. On their latest album, In War And Pieces, Sodom focus on the worst excesses of power: arrogance, greed, spotlight-seeking, fanaticism, corruption, cowardice and oppression. Tom: “I’ve always written about what’s going on in the world, about the injustice and mistakes that happen everywhere. I know that you can’t change anything politically that way, but I would like to at least comment on the situation and generate an awareness of this deplorable state of affairs. Being a singer in a metal band allows me to voice my anger to a large audience.”

This uncompromising attitude marks the eleven songs on Sodom’s latest album which could hardly sound more dynamic and violent. In War And Pieces owes its bloodcurdling energy largely to producer Waldemar Sorychta (Grip Inc., Enemy Of The Sun), whose great skill and commitment were instrumental in creating the album’s – as Tom calls it – “phat, brutal and open” sound. With Sorychta’s support, Angelripper (vocals, bass), Bernemann (guitar) and Bobby Schottkowski (drums) succeeded in adding new impulses to their music without watering down the band’s long tradition. “Waldemar is a great musician himself and has done some brilliant work, especially on the guitar sound,” Tom explains. “He knows how to get the absolute maximum out of a speaker.”

As brutal as the production is the diverse songwriting on In War And Pieces, a kind of tour de force through the whole history of thrash metal, featuring harsh arrangements, melodic solos and raging vocal attacks. “I feel that we sound more contemporary and structured than we did on our recent releases,” Tom analyses. “At the same time, there are also references to recordings such as Persecution Mania and Agent Orange. After Venom, Sodom were the world’s first angry band, and nothing has changed that.” Tom lists as examples the impressive title track, as well as ‘Nothing Counts More Than Blood’ with its ultra-deep guitar atmospheres and the German-language song, ‘Knarrenheinz’, which holds up the tradition of classics such as ‘Bombenhagel’ and ‘Ausgebombt’. “Knarrenheinz is the mascot on the album cover, that’s why I felt he deserved his own lyrics,” Tom grins. Talking of album covers: the artwork was designed by Eliran Kantor, who enjoys an excellent reputation on the scene thanks to his work for renowned acts such as Testament, GWAR and Mekong Delta.

So the most important parameters of a thoroughly successful release are all there. The album will be available in three editions: as a jewel case release, in a Digipak including additional ‘Live in Wacken 2007’ CD and on double LP including the bonus track, ‘Murder One’ (Tom: “My personal Motörhead tribute number featuring lots of Lemmy quotations.”). The next major Sodom tour has been scheduled for spring 2011. “You can tell that the fans are eager for a new Sodom album,” the band mastermind adds. “Mind you, after more than four years, it’s about time we brought one out!”

Subsequently, Sodom embarked on the preparations for their first DVD, Lords Of Depravity Part I (the sequel came out a few months ago), went on to bring out another studio album in Sodom (2006), and continue to sound as uncompromising and multi-faceted as ever on In War And Pieces.

Sodom’s first tentative steps on the scene date back to the year 1982. Be it the early demo tapes, their In The Sign Of Evil-EP (Steamhammer), their 1996 debut album Obsessed By Cruelty: Sodom intimidated the world at large from the very beginning. Two years and one album later, the band toured Europe with the likes of Whiplash, recording the live cut Mortal Way Of Life at the legendary Tor 3 in Düsseldorf in the process. In Agent Orange, the band from Gelsenkirchen in the Ruhr area unleashed a milestone of the genre. Sodom toured all over the world, travelled Europe repeatedly and played a number of successful gigs in Japan and South America. Albums like Better Off Dead (1990) or Tapping The Vein (1992) manifested the success of the band, who – despite a number of personnel changes – managed to maintain their characteristic sound, mainly thanks to bassist and vocalist Tom Angelripper. Throughout the Nineties, Sodom lost none of their authenticity on albums like Masquerade In Blood or ’Til Death Do Us Unite, remaining firmly grounded and never losing touch with their roots. With their 1999 release Code Red, a title that refers to the US Marines’ infamous punishment code, the trio consisting of Angelripper/Bernemann/Schottkowski proved as politically committed as ever. This tradition was continued in 2001 with an “educational journey” to the Far East, namely two shows in Bangkok and Saigon and the explosive subject matter of their album, M 16. Subsequently, Sodom embarked on the preparations for their first DVD, Lords Of Depravity Part I (the sequel came out a few months ago), went on to bring out another studio album in Sodom (2006), and continue to sound as uncompromising and multi-faceted as ever on In War And Pieces.

Line-Up:

  • Tom Angelripper: Vocals / Bass
  • Bernemann: Guitar
  • Markus "Makka" Freiwald: Drums

Contact:

Social Web:

Discography:

  • Epitome Of Torture

    Epitome Of Torture
    [2013]

  • In War And Pieces

    In War And Pieces
    [2010]

  • The Final Sign of Evil

    The Final Sign of Evil
    [2007]

  • Sodom

    Sodom
    [2006]

  • M-16

    M-16
    [2001]

  • Code Red

    Code Red
    [1999]

  • Til Death Do Us Unite

    Til Death Do Us Unite
    [1997]

  • Masquerade in Blood

    Masquerade in Blood
    [1995]

  • Get What You Deserve

    Get What You Deserve
    [1994]

  • Tapping the Vein

    Tapping the Vein
    [1992]

  • Better Off Dead

    Better Off Dead
    [1990]

  • Agent Orange

    Agent Orange
    [1989]

  • Persecution Mania

    Persecution Mania
    [1987]

  • Obsessed by Cruelty

    Obsessed by Cruelty
    [1986]

Artists

Biography

Für Tom Angelripper ist seine Thrash Metal-Band Sodom das perfekte Vehikel, um unverblümt Stellung zu beziehen. Wie kaum ein anderer Musiker dieser Szene verkörpert er neben Bodenständigkeit und Ehrlichkeit vor allem eine gesund-kritische Haltung gegenüber politischen Autoritäten und Entscheidungsträgern aus Wirtschaft und Finanzwelt. Auch auf dem neuesten Album In War And Pieces stellen Sodom die schlimmsten Auswüchse von Macht ins Zentrum ihrer Aussagen: Arroganz, Habgier, Profilierungssucht, Fanatismus, Korruption, Feigheit und Unterdrückung. Tom: „Ich habe immer schon darüber geschrieben, was in der Welt so abgeht, wie viel Unrecht und Fehler überall passieren. Ich weiß, dass man politisch damit nichts ändern kann, aber ich möchte zumindest Stellung beziehen und ein Bewusstsein für Missstände wecken. Als Sänger einer Metal-Band habe ich nun einmal die Möglichkeit, meine Wut öffentlich rauszuschreien.“

Genau diese kompromisslose Haltung erkennt man auch musikalisch in den elf Songs des neuesten Albums, das dynamischer und rabiater kaum klingen könnte. Einen großen Anteil an diesem – wie Tom es nennt – „fetten, brutalen und offenen Sound“ hat Produzent Waldemar Sorychta (Grip Inc., Enemy Of The Sun), der durch Sachverstand und großes Engagement In War And Pieces zu seiner markerschütternden Energie verholfen hat. Mit Hilfe Sorychtas schaffen Angelripper (Gesang, Bass), Bernemann (Gitarre) und Bobby Schottkowski (Schlagzeug) den Spagat, ihrer Musik neue Impulse zu geben ohne die lange Tradition der Gruppe zu verwässern. „Waldemar ist ja selbst ein hervorragender Musiker und hat insbesondere beim Gitarrensound tolle Arbeit geleistet“, erklärt Tom, „er weiß genau, wie man das absolute Optimum aus einem Verstärker herausholt.“

Ähnlich rabiat wie die Produktion stellt sich auf In War And Pieces auch das abwechslungsreiche Songwriting dar, eine Art Parforceritt durch die gesamte Thrash Metal-Historie, mit schroffen Arrangements, melodischen Soli und wutschnaubenden Gesangsattacken. „Ich finde, dass wir moderner und strukturierter als zuletzt klingen“, analysiert Tom, „gleichzeitig gibt es natürlich auch Querverweise an Scheiben wie Persecution Mania oder Agent Orange. Sodom waren nach Venom die erste böse Band der Welt, und daran hat sich bis heute nichts geändert.“ Tom spricht beispielsweise vom eindrucksvollen Titeltrack, von ´Nothing Counts More Than Blood` mit seiner ultratiefen Gitarrenstimmung oder vom deutschen Track ´Knarrenheinz`, der ganz in der Tradition von Klassikern wie ´Bombenhagel` oder auch ´Ausgebombt` steht. „Der Knarrenheinz ist ja das Maskottchen vom Cover, deshalb dachte ich mir, dass er einen eigenen Text verdient hat“, grinst Tom. Apropos Cover: Das Artwork stammt diesmal von Eliran Kantor, der mit seinen Arbeiten für Testament, GWAR oder auch Mekong Delta einen glänzenden Ruf in der Szene genießt.

Die wichtigsten Parameter einer rundum gelungenen Veröffentlichung sind also geschaffen. Das Album wird in drei Editionen veröffentlicht: als Jewel Case, als Digipack mit einer zusätzlichen CD ´Live In Wacken 2007` sowie als Doppel-LP inklusive des Bonustracks ´Murder One` (Tom: „Meine persönliche Motörhead-Tribute-Nummer mit einer Menge Zitate von Lemmy“). Und ab Frühjahr 2011 soll es dann erneut auf große Tournee gehen. „Man merkt, dass die Fans heiß auf ein neues Sodom-Album sind“, erklärt der Bandboss, „nach mehr als vier Jahren wird es ja auch wirklich dringend Zeit!“

Sodoms erste Gehversuche reichen bis ins Jahr 1982 zurück. Die frühen Demotapes, die erste bei Steamhammer veröffentlichte EP In The Sign Of Evil, das ´86er Debütalbum Obsessed By Cruelty: Sodom lehrten der Welt gleich von Beginn an das Fürchten. Zwei Jahre und ein Album später tourte die Band bereits mit Größen wie Whiplash durch Europa und zeichnete dabei im Düsseldorfer ´Tor 3` die Live-Scheibe Mortal Way Of Life auf. Mit Agent Orange gelang den Ruhrpottlern anschließend ein Meilenstein des Genres. Sodom tourten in aller Welt, bereisten mehrfach ganz Europa und stationierten auch erfolgreich in Japan und Südamerika. Werke wie Better Off Dead (1990) oder Tapping The Vein (1992) manifestierten den Erfolg der Band, die Dank Tom Angelripper trotz einiger personeller Umbesetzungen ihren charakteristischen Grundsound stets beibehielt. Auch in den Neunzigern verloren Sodom mit Werken wie Masquerade In Blood oder ´Til Death Do Us Unite niemals ihre Authentizität, wahrten ihre Bodenhaftung und den Blick für die eigene Herkunft. Mit dem 99er Exponat Code Red, dessen Titel sich auf den berühmt-berüchtigten Bestrafungscode bei den Marines bezieht, zeigte sich das Trio Angelripper/Bernemann/Schottkowski politisch engagiert wie eh und je. Diese Tradition wurde 2001 mit einem Trip nach Fernost, sprich: zwei Konzerten in Bangkok und einer „Schulungsreise“ nach Saigon sowie dem brisanten Thema ihres Albums M 16 konsequent fortgeführt. Anschließend stürzten sich Sodom in die Vorbereitungen zur ersten DVD Lords Of Depravity Part I (die Fortsetzung erschien vor wenigen Monaten), legten anschließend mit Sodom (2006) ein weiteres neues Studiowerk nach und klingen auf In War And Pieces kompromisslos und facettenreich wie eh und je.

 

Line-Up:

  • Tom Angelripper: Vocals / Bass
  • Bernemann: Guitar
  • Markus "Makka" Freiwald: Drums

Contact:

Social Web:

Discography:

  • Epitome Of Torture

    Epitome Of Torture
    [2013]

  • In War And Pieces

    In War And Pieces
    [2010]

  • The Final Sign of Evil

    The Final Sign of Evil
    [2007]

  • Sodom

    Sodom
    [2006]

  • M-16

    M-16
    [2001]

  • Code Red

    Code Red
    [1999]

  • Til Death Do Us Unite

    Til Death Do Us Unite
    [1997]

  • Masquerade in Blood

    Masquerade in Blood
    [1995]

  • Get What You Deserve

    Get What You Deserve
    [1994]

  • Tapping the Vein

    Tapping the Vein
    [1992]

  • Better Off Dead

    Better Off Dead
    [1990]

  • Agent Orange

    Agent Orange
    [1989]

  • Persecution Mania

    Persecution Mania
    [1987]

  • Obsessed by Cruelty

    Obsessed by Cruelty
    [1986]